Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
76

Your First Words

9 Mylestones for you, and 9 Noticings for Me
76
Transcript

No transcript...

If you’re new to Raising Myles, Welcome!

I write letters to my infant son, Myles, sharing my journey as a first-time dad and spreading the love I didn't experience myself. If you’ve been here before — thank you for coming back. If you’re new here, below are some good places to start:


Myles is now 9 months! Once a month, I've been sharing our MYLESTONES (get it?). Even though they might just be skipping stones (sorry, I had to). You can read about his past Mylestones here.

39 Weeks Old

Dear Myles,

9 Mylestones for You

  1. Your great-grandmother turned 93 last February. Both of you move a little too fast for your age.

  2. You’ve learned to throw your hands, stiffen your limbs, and fall out like a church lady who caught the ghost when you’re hungry. You’ve never missed a meal, but you sure act like it.

    Fall Out In Spirit Holy Ghost Baby GIF - Fall Out In Spirit Holy Ghost Baby  Pentecostal - Discover & Share GIFs

  3. Your laughter is beautiful. If I can bottle it, for every rainy day, I’d pop it in the sky to remind me joy is coming in the morning.

  4. You’ve been preferential lately, preferring your mother lately. That’s okay, I know our time is coming soon. I'm anxiously waiting.

  5. After bragging about how much I’m a sleep master, that same night I’m convinced you read it yourself – you showed me who’s the real don, hefe, and boss is. That night you did not sleep. I can’t wait to ask God: “Why is there a 4-month, 6-month, 8-month, 12-month, 18-month, and 2-year sleep regression?”

  6. We learned crawling is not just a milestone. We can stop worrying that you’re commando crawling using one leg.

  7. You’ve grown two front teeth - front, bottom, and center. Talk about a bite.

  8. This month we went to Target, got some art supplies, got messy, and made your first art piece. Like these words, this is something that will outlive us. I love how like us, it’s imperfect, but still beautiful.

  9. I was at work, and your mother texted a video that melted my heart. I’ve sent it to the email I created for you when you were born. Subject: First words. But here’s the audio. It’s exactly what you think it is.

    0:00
    -0:23

9 Noticings about me

  1. Me after I put you down for the night:

  2. A letter I wrote for you was published in Northwestern University’s Triquarterly Literary Magazine. These letters are reaching further than I ever imagined—I hope you’ll be okay with all of this in the future.

  3. Your mother has been weaning you off the boob, and when I made your first bottle of formula, I felt a new appreciation and understanding for Pusha T, Snowfall, and other shows that make whipping powder alluring.

  4. I see now why parents put kids to bed early. They say it’s for the kids' development but really it’s for the parents' sanity. Those last two hours your mother and I get at the end of the day while you are down for the night feel almost sacred.

  5. We started binge-watching Bluey after you go to bed. The show is definitely for the parents. I want to be like Bandit, the dad – all the fun, but maybe a little less tired. I wonder if you want a Bingo. To be honest, as tired as we are these days, we are trying to figure out if we want a Bingo too.

  6. Last month marked a year in our new home here in Birmingham, AL. I love the life we are building together as a family. New York can keep its snow, parallel parking, rush hour, and sewer rats, but I miss the food. I probably shouldn’t have put those two sentences together.

  7. I got an auntie to babysit, and your mother and I went out on a date last month; and for a couple of hours, I remembered who we used to be before you. Even though those days had their own host of issues, for those couple of hours, I remember what it was like to first fall in love with your mother.

  1. The way you look at me makes me feel like I can do anything, whether I’m missing a shot or making mistakes. Thank you for being my biggest cheerleader. Thank you for just being you.

  2. Nine months feels special. Nine months ago, I watched you come into this world with tears in my eyes while the nurses handed you to me, saying, “Congratulations, dad.” It took me a while to realize they were talking to me. Nine months before that, we were in Ethiopia, where you were conceived. And now, here you are, nine months from when we took you from the hospital. You've formed your lips, to call everything and everyone "dada." But it feels extra special when you look at me and say it — I know you know who I am because I know who I am.

Love,

Daddy


A special shoutout to our newest paid subscribers: . Brother, I appreciate you so much. Thank you!

While I don't rely on people paying, these letters are a labor of love. All funds collected from writing these letters go towards Myles' college savings. Consider upgrading your subscription to help ensure Myles avoids student debt like his dad.

If you can’t commit to a monthly subscription, but still want to support, here is my Buy Me a Coffee page.

Let me know your thoughts:

  1. Which one of these mylestones/noticings resonated with you?

  2. What do you do when your child finally goes down for a nap or for the night?

  3. Is there something from your childhood that you hope to pass down to a family member one day? Share why it’s important.

  4. Does the room ever start getting sandy when you watch Bluey or feels like someone is cutting onions in the room? Why is this show so good?

  5. What a mylestone have you enjoyed the most from witnessing a child's growth, whether it's your own child or someone else's?

Leave a comment

Want more of Myles’ Letters?

The most recent one is about how it feels to put him to sleep - The True Sleep Master

These are Subscriber’s favorites:

76 Comments
Raising Myles
Raising Myles