Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
67

For the Love of Water

8 Mylestones for you, and 8 Noticings for Me
67

If you’re new to Raising Myles, Welcome!

I write letters to my infant son, Myles, sharing my journey as a first-time dad and spreading the love I didn't experience myself. If you’ve been here before — thank you for coming back. If you’re new here, below are some good places to start:


Myles is growing quickly - this past week he turned 8 months. Once a month, I've been sharing our MYLESTONES (get it?). Even though they might just be skipping stones (sorry, I had to). I did one of these last month. This month was probably the toughest for me.

35 Weeks Old

Dear Myles,

8 Mylestones for You

  1. My second breakfast consists of your leftovers: hand-smashed avocado mixed with applesauce and Greek yogurt. Avocados are too pricey to let go to waste. This is how Dad bods are made; right in the kitchen, right next to your high chair.

  2. We’re still co-sleeping. No matter how far I place you away from me in the bed, you always find yourself curled beneath me. You're a bit anxious, like your mom and dad - you need peace between the people you love to sleep.

  3. Your favorite song is Bino and Fino - Dance Dance Dance. You break out into a full laughter and start bouncing out of pure joy. This song on repeat is our secret weapon on long car rides. 

  4. We’re playing a game more dangerous than Russian roulette. It’s called 'only used one pacifier since you were born, and we are praying we don’t lose it,' and thankfully we haven’t – knock on wood.

  5. We used to bathe you in the bathroom sink, but you're too big for that now. You sit up in your little tub. You love the water even though I still fear it. But for you, I will learn.

  6. You are fearless. You dive and tumble towards anything that grabs your interest. That includes other people’s foreheads too.

  7. Some kids blow raspberries, but you blow watermelons. I have to cover your mouth in public sometimes so you don’t spit on strangers. The internet says this is one of the first steps of language development. I try to imagine myself saying this to a stranger you just spat on. 

  8. Since you were born, Anita Baker's 'Angel' has been your sleep song. But this month, you started smiling when the song plays – you’ve learned this is our way of telling you it is time to sleep.

8 Noticings about me

  1. I'm raising you and my inner child. The sonogram never showed twins.

  2. Sometimes late at night, I watch you while you sleep. I never knew love could cause insomnia.

  3. It would be really nice to retire your mother. Sometimes I hate we work because we have to, not because we want to. 

  4. I reached a new level of exhaustion this month. I cracked an egg into the carton instead of the bowl. 

  5. I’ve been doing the whole sleep while you sleep thing. Some things aren’t getting done now, but at least I am getting more rest. 

  6. I’m thankful for every failed relationship in the past. I couldn’t imagine raising you with anyone else – your mother is a gift. 

  7. This past month, I took a weekend trip; it was the longest I've been away from you since you were born. I missed you and asked your mother for proof of life 385 times. When I came home, every nap was a contact nap. I see now why parents cry when they send their kids to daycare.

  8. When you were born, a friend’s husband told me, “Welcome to fatherhood. Here is the new ranking order of things that matter: The child first, your wife second, everything else,  and your last.”I thought about those words a lot this month.

Love,

Daddy


A special shoutout to our newest paid subscribers: Nancy and my best friend from college, Connie! I appreciate you!

While I don't rely on people paying, these letters are a labor of love. All funds collected from writing these letters go towards Myles' college savings. Consider upgrading your subscription to help ensure Myles avoids student debt like his dad.

If you can’t commit to a monthly subscription, but still want to support, here is my Buy Me a Coffee page.

Let me know your thoughts:

  1. Which one of these mylestones/noticings resonated with you?

  2. Do you find that in raising your own kid(s) you’re inner child too?

  3. Ever experienced the cracked an egg in the carton kind of exhaustion? Tell me about it.

  4. How do you handle being separated from loved ones for a long time?

  5. When does it get easier? Asking for a first time dad.

Leave a comment

Want more of Myles’ Letters?

The most recent one is a poem about self care - Child of the Moisturized

These are Subscriber’s favorites:

67 Comments
Raising Myles
Raising Myles